Film music operation and control

  • Summary

I*n this project we were tasked with taking the film that we had made used in the last two projects and adding music to our most previous edit of it as well as creating a blog post explaining our choices for the music.

  • The Fundamental Elements of Film Music

Notes:

  • silent film as a term was fist said after sound was a movie standard
  • first music used in a film was someone hired to play a guitar over the sound of the projector
  • some time later it became standard for an orchestra to play over the projector
  • the music played was Purely Improvisational
  • the musician’s also had a Cue Sheet
  • Tempo the first thing to consider when thinking about a films’ music
    • Melody, pitch and voice
      • Pitch – higher frequency makes smaller, petite sound. Lower
      • Harmony – created when playing any two notes at the same
      • Keys
        • Flat – darker
        • Sharp – happier
      • Leitmotif – a recurrent theme associated with a certain person or situation
      • Music can be used to push and heighten emotion
      • Can be used as a counterpoint to what is on the screen
  • How to Imitate a Whole Lot of Film Music

Notes:

film With Music Composition

What I Learned And ProbLems I Solved

In this project the main thing that I learned was how to use a combination of different music keys and the already established tone of my film to direct the emotions that I wanted my audience to feel. The only problems that I ran into during this was that for some reason in Garage Band some keys would not work so I had to find some way around them in order to make the music that I wanted but other than that it was smooth sailing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *