Art of the Interview – Citizen Kane Project

Summary

For this particular project we were tasked with making and interview about a scene from the film Citizen Kane. My group got the second clip which was titled The Union Forever. My group decided to focus on the story being told in this scene and how power shifts between each person. In the end we made an interview that explains how the people in the position of power of the scene drive the story of the scene and the impact that it will have of Charles going forward.

The Film

Pre-Production

Test Audio

In the four clips that I have uploaded we tested different voices in the area that we ended up shooting so that we could get a better idea of what would work best for what we wanted to make.

Production

un-edited audio

The audio that I uploaded above is the unedited version of our final audio for the interview. I did my best to get all the audio in one recording so that it would be easier on me and the editor to put it in the video

Post-Production

edited audio

The audio clip above is the final edit of the audio recorded during production. The editing process was easy because I only had to remove a couple mistakes made when we were recording but since I recorded it all in one clip I didn’t have to merge clips together.

Reactions to the final film

Carson- The narrator had many interesting points. The camera acts as if it is rotating around the narrator with each cut, which was interesting.

What I learned and Problems I Solved

Over the course of this project I learned a few things but there are some things that stand out. For started I learned what goes into shooting an interview. This actually goes well with another project that we did where we edited an interview and by doing this project I got to learn what went into filming that interview. Another thing that I learned was how to preform a film analysis. I feel that this skill is a nice one to have because it gives me the ability to have a deeper understanding of films and their meanings and that goes along way even outside of this class. The only problem we had was that our sound designer was a senior so they ended up leaving half way through the project. This turned out to be a simple fix because I joined the team a day before she left so I just took over as sound design.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *